Annual General Meeting 2024 Agenda & 2023 Minutes



Agenda

- 1. Introduction and welcome
- 2. Apologies for absence
- 3. Governance topics
 - a. Approve the minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 21st July 2023
 - b. Adopt the model constitution from Policy, Organisation and Rules (POR)
 - c. Note the Group's financial year
 - d. Approve appointed and community members of the Group Scout Council
 - e. Agree the number of members that may be appointed to the Trustee Board
 - f. Agree the quorum for future meetings of the Group Scout Council (excluding this AGM)
- 4. Review of the previous year
 - a. Receive and consider the Annual Report of the Group Leadership Team
 - b. Receive and consider the Annual Report of the Group Trustee Board, including the annual Statement of the Accounts
- 5. Making appointments
 - a. Appoint the Group Chair
 - b. Appoint the Group Treasurer
 - c. Appoint members of the Group Trustee Board
 - d. Appoint the Independent Examiner
- 6. Items from the Group Lead Volunteer
- 7. Guest speaker(s)
- 8. Vote of thanks
- 9. Closing remarks

#SkillsForLife since 1934



27th Norwich Scout Group Annual General Meeting 7pm on Friday 21st July 2023

Present

Current trustees: Nicola Claxton (Chair), James Higham (GSL), Chloe Habgood (Secretary), Tim Fancy, Emma Horsfall, Alan Moll, Jan Moll, Carla Steel, Sarah Leeks Leaders: John Thompson, Jean Thompson, Leanne Hendry, Claire Lee District representatives: Paul Bean (District Commissioner), Judith Pryke. Trevor Orford, former GSL and long standing supporter of over 60 years Parents of the group members

Apologies

Received from David Stansbury, Lindsay Stansbury, Maria Burton, Keith Whittaker and Billy Gallop.

Chair's Welcome

James introduced Nicola as the newly elected chair of the group. Nicola then welcomed the parents, leaders and members present, and called the meeting to order. She introduced the visiting representative, Paul Bean – District Commissioner.

Minutes of previous AGM

The minutes from the last AGM held on 23rd September 2022 were proposed by the Chair as a true account of the meetings held. All in agreement. Minutes were proposed by Alan Moll, and seconded by Leanne Hendry.

Matters arising

No matters were arising from the previous meeting.

Reports

Each section had presented a report outlining the activities undertaken throughout the year for those present to read. No questions arose, reports proposed by Jan Moll and seconded by Alan Moll. The Trustee's report presented. No questions arose. The report was proposed by Vicky Green and seconded by Claire Lee.

Appointments of Trustees

The current trustees stepped down from their posts. James nominated Nicola Claxton as Chair, which was approved by those present.

The Chair indicated Billy Gallop and Chloe Habgood had agreed to re-stand and be elected as treasurer and secretary respectively. Both elections were proposed by Vicky Green and seconded by Alan Moll. David Barnes had been asked to act as the Group's Independent Examiner for another year, a position proposed by Nicola Claxton and seconded by Sarah Leeks.

Jan Moll indicated she will continue to stand on the executive committee as an ex-officio trustee representing the Beaver Scout section, and likewise Alan Moll as Assistant Group Scout Leader. The Cub and Scout section leaders indicated they did not wish to do so, and Emma Horsfall and Tim Fancy agreed to stand as elected trustees representing the Cub and Scout sections respectively.



27th Norwich (New Costessey) Scout HQ, Gunton Lane, Norwich, NR5 0AE inbox@27thnorwich.org.uk www.27thnorwich.org.uk

Annual General Meeting 2024 Agenda & 2023 Minutes



Maria Burton and Carla Steel agreed to re-stand as elected trustees. Sarah Leeks will be stepping down as a nominated trustee, and James nominated Vicky Green to stand as a trustee. The elections of Emma, Tim, Maria, and Carla and the approval of Vicky's nomination were proposed en bloc by Alan Moll and seconded by Leanne Hendry.

Re-adoption of the Group's Constitution

The group's governing document is currently the model constitution as laid out in chapter 5.4 of the Scouts national Policy, Organisation and Rules. Nicola Claxton proposed that the group re-adopt this for the current year, which was seconded by Chloe Habgood.

Items from the GSL

James welcomed Nicola and Chloe onto the Board of Trustees, and presented Sarah Leeks, leaving after 13 years of volunteering, and Leanne Hendry, moving to Spixworth Scouts after being with the group since her own Beaver days, with gifts and thanks, and wished them well. He also presented Carla Steel with her 5 year long service award. This was followed by a presentation about the new Squirrel unit being set up, to be run by Claire Lee, an exciting development the group are proud to be spearheading - the drey will be one of the first in the area, following the example set up when the group started one of the first Beaver colonies in the area. Also mentioned were the coming 90th anniversary celebrations, race night and group trip to the air museum. James offered his thanks to all for a great year, and encouraged those present to spread the word to both children and adults.

Guest Speaker

Paul Bean addressed the meeting, expressing his gladness that all was going well within the group and particularly that the new Squirrel unit was in development. He gave his thanks to all the volunteers. Nicola thanked Paul and all those at District for their continued support.

Vote of Thanks

The Chair motioned a vote of thanks to the volunteers within the group and the trustees working in the background. She also thanked everyone – leaders, young people and parents - for attending the AGM, long standing retired member Trevor Orford for his support, and young leaders Lizzie and Jimbo and Mark and Tom Green for manning the barbecue.

Meeting close at 7.32pm. A family fun evening and BBQ followed. Activities included toasting marshmallows and making paper planes.

Full list of trustees appointed

Nicola Claxton	Nominated trustee - Chair
Chloe Habgood	Elected trustee - Secretary
Billy Gallop	Elected trustee - Treasurer
James Higham	Ex-officio trustee - Group Scout Leader
Alan Moll	Ex-officio trustee - Assistant Group Scout Leader
Jan Moll	Ex-officio trustee - Beaver Scout section representative
Emma Horsfall	Elected trustee - Cub Scout section representative
Tim Fancy	Elected trustee - Scout section representative
Maria Burton	Elected trustee
Carla Steel	Elected trustee
Vicky Green	Nominated trustee

#SkillsForLife since 1934

27th Norwich (New Costessey) Scout HQ, Gunton Lane, Norwich, NR5 0AE inbox@27thnorwich.org.uk www.27thnorwich.org.uk

Registered charity number 1046258 (England & Wales)